

# Special Council Meeting Teleconference

Held via Zoom Wednesday, April 26, 2023 – 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

# **MINUTES**

President

Vice President

Members Present: Lileath Claire

Kristine Bailey

Abdelatif Azzouz Michael Bakshy Avneet Bhatia Norbert Gieger

Elizabeth Gorham-Matthews

Aisha Hasan Paul Karolidis Garnett A. D. Pryce Gaganjot Singh

Regrets: Adam-Christian Mazzuca

**Christopher Reis** 

<u>Legal Counsel</u>: Rebecca Durcan, Steinecke, Maciura and LeBlanc

Staff: Roderick Tom-Ying, Registrar and CEO

Tera Goldblatt, Manager, Quality Assurance and Sexual Abuse Liaison

Elaine Lew, Manager, Registration and Qualifying Examinations

#### 1. Call to Order

Called and convened in accordance with section 22.16 of the CDO By-laws with formal notice given in accordance with section 22.17, the Special meeting was called to order at 11:02 a.m.

# 2. Approval of Agenda

It was noted that the agenda includes only those items of business that were contained in the formal notice of the Special meeting.

**MOTION:** To approve the agenda as presented.

**MOVED:** A. Hasan **SECONDED:** G. Singh

**CARRIED** 

## 3. Declaration of Conflict(s)

Comments on conflict of interest were made by Ms. Rebecca Durcan, College Counsel. No conflicts of interest were declared.

# 4. College Mission and Mandate

The President drew Council members' attention to the College Mission and the College Mandate, which were provided.

# 5. Registration Regulation, Emergency Class of Registration

The Registrar and Ms. Rebecca Durcan, College Counsel, presented the 2023 draft Registration Regulation and the consultation feedback received from stakeholders. A discussion took place.

Michael Bakshy departed the meeting at 11:25 a.m.

**MOTION:** To approve the Registration Regulation (Emergency and 2021 amendments) as presented for formal submission to the Ministry of Health.

MOVED: N. Gieger

**SECONDED:** E. Gorham-Matthews

#### **ROLL-CALL VOTE:**

Abdelatif Azzouz – In Favour
Kristine Bailey – In Favour
Avneet Bhatia – In Favour
Lileath Claire – In Favour
Norbert Gieger – In Favour
Elizabeth Gorham-Matthews – In Favour
Aisha Hasan – In Favour
Paul Karolidis – In Favour
Garnett A. D. Pryce – In Favour
Gaganjot Singh – In Favour

**CARRIED** 

#### 6. Next Meeting Date

It was noted that the 112<sup>th</sup> Council Meeting will be held on June 9, 2023.

# 7. Adjournment

**MOTION:** That the meeting be adjourned.

**MOVED:** A. Hasan **SECONDED:** A. Azzouz

**CARRIED** 

The meeting was adjourned at 12:14 p.m.

Lileath Claire President

Roderick Tom-Ying Registrar and CEO October 2, 2023

Date

October 2, 2023

Date